Rookie’s guide to the NFL: All you need to know about American Football ahead of the 2022 season

What is the NFL? How are points awarded? And how do teams get to the Super Bowl? Learn all of the above and more in our Beginner’s Guide to the NFL… Watch the 2022 season opener – Buffalo Bills @ Los Angeles Rams – Live on Sky Sports NFL, 1:20 a.m. Friday

With the 2022 NFL season kicking off on Thursday, as many as 32 teams have the same ultimate goal of reaching and winning Super Bowl LVII in Arizona on February 12, 2023.

The Los Angeles Rams (NFC) defeated the Cincinnati Bengals (AFC) 23-20 in last year’s big game, while the Pittsburgh Steelers and New England Patriots share the record for most Super Bowl wins: six.

However, Tom Brady is at his best. He has more Super Bowl wins than any other team, with seven to his name: The superstar quarterback won six with the Patriots before adding a seventh success with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers two years ago. At age 45, he returned this year for an incredible 23rd NFL season!

But what else do you need to know? What is the NFL? And how do teams get to the Super Bowl? Here we go over the basics…

The NFL is the US National Football League, its main football competition, with 32 teams competing for the ultimate championship, the Super Bowl.

Highlights from Super Bowl LVI between the LA Rams and Cincinnati Bengals

Use the Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Highlights from Super Bowl LVI between the LA Rams and Cincinnati Bengals

The 32 teams are divided into two conferences: the National Football Conference (NFC) and the American Football Conference (AFC).

The NFC and AFC are then divided by region to consist of four divisions with four teams each:

NFC North – Chicago Bears, Detroit Lions, Green Bay Packers, Minnesota Vikings
VostokNFC – Dallas Cowboys, New York Giants, Philadelphia Eagles, Washington Commanders
NFC South – Atlanta Falcons, Carolina Panthers, New Orleans Saints, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
NFC West – Arizona Cardinals, Los Angeles Rams, San Francisco 49ers, Seattle Seahawks

AFC North – Baltimore Ravens, Cincinnati Bengals, Cleveland Browns, Pittsburgh Steelers
AFC East – Buffalo Bills, Miami Dolphins, New England Patriots, New York Jets
AFC South – Houston Texans, Indianapolis Colts, Jacksonville Jaguars, Tennessee Titans
AFC West – Denver Broncos, Kansas City Chiefs, Las Vegas Raiders, Los Angeles Chargers